Update: Starting in July 2022, standard Search “Target CPA” bid strategies will be renamed “Maximize conversions”, and Search “Target ROAS” bid strategies will be renamed “Maximize conversion value”. With each bidding strategy, you'll keep the ability to set an optional Target CPA or Target ROAS respectively, and there will be no impact to bidding behavior with this change.
Smart Bidding helps you reach your conversion and conversion value goals by using Google AI to set bids with real-time signals. Google is changing how bid strategies are organized for Search campaigns to focus on 2 main performance goals:
You’ll still be able to use Target CPA and Target ROAS as bid strategies. They'll simply be bundled with the Maximize conversions and Maximize conversion value bid strategies, respectively. This means that:
You’ll start seeing these optional fields in the next few months as you create new bid strategies. There will be no impact to bidding behavior due to this update. Using the optional target CPA and target ROAS fields will optimize your performance the same way Target CPA and Target ROAS bid strategies do today.
Performance goal Current Bid Strategy Updated Bid Strategy Maximize conversions within a set budget Maximize conversions Maximize conversionsNote: You don’t need to take any action on any of these changes and there will be no impact to bidding behavior. These changes only impact Search campaigns and won’t impact other campaign types that support Smart Bidding.
TimelineFor any new Search campaigns that you’ve created over the last few months, you’ll already see the optional target fields for the new Maximize conversions or Maximize conversion value bid strategies.
However, any Search campaign which has been using Target CPA or Target ROAS over the last year, may still be named as “Target CPA” or “Target ROAS”. Starting in July, as part of this change, your existing Target CPA and Target ROAS strategies will be switched to these new fields automatically. Campaigns using a portfolio strategy will not be impacted by this change, and are expected to switch in 2023.
With an optional target, Smart Bidding is designed to optimize these goals the same way it would enhance Target CPA and Target ROAS. Maximize conversions with a set target CPA will behave like Target CPA strategy does today, and similarly, Maximize conversion value with a set target ROAS will behave like a Target ROAS strategy does today.
How it worksWhen you select Maximize conversions or Maximize conversion value bid strategies, you can choose to add an optional target CPA and target ROAS instead of creating standalone strategies for Search campaigns.
Example: If your goal is to get an average of $5 in sales for each $1 you spend on ads, your target ROAS would be 500%.
Note: When the optional targets aren’t set, Maximize conversions and Maximize conversion value will still behave in the same way that they do today.
Instructions Set up your Maximize conversions using a target CPA or your Maximize conversion value using a target ROAS bid strategiesNote: The bid strategy type will appear under the “Bid strategy type” column as Maximize conversion or Maximize conversion value.
Impacts to Google Ads Editor and Google Ads APILearn more about how this change impacts the Google Ads API
Related links Was this helpful?How can we improve it?
RetroSearch is an open source project built by @garambo | Open a GitHub Issue
Search and Browse the WWW like it's 1997 | Search results from DuckDuckGo
HTML:
3.2
| Encoding:
UTF-8
| Version:
0.7.3